California Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards Enforcement

The California Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) establishes labor laws regarding wages, hours of work, and conditions of employment. There are two divisions under the DIR: the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement and the Industrial Welfare Commission.

Division of Labor Standards Enforcement

The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement provides wage claim adjudication and discrimination complaint investigations. The Division enforces California's labor laws and Industrial Welfare Commission orders. It also registers garment manufacturers and issues licenses to farm labor contractors, talent agencies, and industrial homeworkers, and it certifies studio teachers.

Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC)

The IWC:

·        Determines the wages paid to employees.

·        Establishes the hours and conditions of labor and employment.

·        Investigates employee health, safety, and welfare.

·        Institutes industry-wide and occupation-wide Wage Orders.

State Child Labor Laws: Regulations govern the registration of employers, transporters, and supervisors of minors, under the age of 16, engaged in door-to-door sales more than ten miles from the minor’s residence.

The California child labor requirements can be found in Title 8, Chapter 6, Subchapters 1, 2, and 2.5 of the California Code of Regulations: http://www.dir.ca.gov/samples/search/querydlse.htm

State Minimum Wage: The state minimum wage as of January 1, 2002, $6.75 per hour.

The California minimum wage requirements can be found in Title 8, Chapter 5, Group 1, Article 1, Section 11000 of the California Code of Regulations: http://www.dir.ca.gov/samples/search/querydlse.htm

Overtime: Premium pay is required after 8 hours daily (double time if over 12 hours) and 40 hours weekly (7th day: first 8 hours at time and half and over eight hours at double time).

Requirements for overtime compensation in various industries and occupations can be found in Title 8, Chapter 5, Group 2 of the California Code of Regulations: http://www.dir.ca.gov/samples/search/querydlse.htm

State Prevailing Wage: $1,000 is set as the threshold amount for contract coverage under the state prevailing wage requirements.

California prevailing wage requirements can be found in Title 8, Chapter 8, Subchapter 4 of the California Code of Regulations: http://www.dir.ca.gov/samples/search/querydlse.htm

Contact information
California Department of Industrial Relations

Division of Labor Standards Enforcement

2424 Arden Way, Suite 360

Sacramento, CA 95825

Phone: 916-323-4920

and

California Department of Industrial Relations

Industrial Welfare Commission

770 L Street, Suite 1170

Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: 916-322-0167


Website: http://www.dir.ca.gov/labor_law.html